Oyo state

Oyo State > State Governor

Oyo State Map - Local Government areas

  • Date Created February 03, 1976
  • Capital Ibadan
  • Governor Oluwaseyi Makinde
  • Land Area 28,454 sq km (10,986 sq mi)
  • Population 5,580,894
  • GDP $29.8 billion

Election Result

Oyo 2023 Presidential Election Results

  • Parties
  • Candidates
  • Votes
View Full Result

Oyo State governor, Oluwaseyi Makinde

Oluwaseyi Makinde

Seyi Makinde was born to a renowned teacher turned accountant, late Pa Olatubosun Makinde and Madam Abigail Makinde of Aigbofa Compound in Oja’ba, Ibadan. He is the third child of the family.He began his education at St Paul Primary School and completed his primary education at St Michael Primary School, Yemetu, Ibadan. His secondary education was at Bishop Phillips Academy, Monatan, Ibadan. In 1985, he gained admission to the University of Lagos (Unilag) where he earned his bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering.  Makinde contested for the Oyo South Senatorial seat under the platform of the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) but lost to the Peoples Democractic Party. He emerged as the gubernatorial candidate of the Peoples Democractic Party (PDP) for the 2019 general elections for Oyo State. On  29 May 2019 was sworn in as the 28th executive Governor of Oyo State


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings