Kaduna state

Kaduna State Map - Local Government areas

  • Date Created December 12, 2021
  • Capital Kauru
  • LGA Chairman
  • Land Area 1,230 sq mi (3,186 km2)
  • Population 221,276 (2006 Census)
  • GDP

Election Result

Kauru 2023 Presidential Election Results

  • Parties
  • Candidates
  • Votes
View Full Result

History Of Kauru

Kauru Local Government Area is situated in Kaduna State, Northwest Nigeria. Its administrative headquarters is located in the town of Kauru. Covering an area of 2,810 km2, Kauru LGA has a population density of 106.3/km2 as of 2016, with an annual population change of +3.05%/year. The population was recorded as 221,276 in the 2006 census, with a projected population of 298,700 by March 21, 2016.

Kauru LGA shares boundaries with several other LGAs including Zangon Kataf, Kajuru, Igabi, Soba, Kubau, Lere, Kaura, Bassa, and Riyom. It consists of 11 subdivisions or second-order administrative divisions, including Badurum, Bital, Damakasuwa, Dawaki, Geshere, Kamaru, Kauru East, Kauru West, Kwassam, Makami, and Pari.

The towns and villages within Kauru LGA include Kumana, Tsam, Chawai, Tsonje, Kagoro, Madamai, and Kigam. The majority of the population in Kauru LGA are members of the Atsam tribe, and the Atsam language is widely spoken in the area


No one can narrate our story more authentically than we can. We aim to see our community prosper and create a precise historical account for future generations. You have the opportunity to enhance Allnews Nigeria Explore by actively participating in our historical documentation. Earn points by contributing to the progress of our Nigerian community Documentation.

Sign up to begin


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings