Montpellier HSC

Montpellier HSC



Montpellier Hérault Sport Club commonly referred to as Montpellier HSC or simply Montpellier is a French professional football club based in the city of Montpellier in Occitanie.

The original club was founded in 1919, while the current incarnation was founded through a merger in 1974. Montpellier currently plays in Ligue 1, the top level of French football.

The club plays its home matches at the Stade de la Mosson, located within the city with a capacity of 32,900.

The first team is managed by Michel Der Zakarian and captained by defender Hilton.

Montpellier was founded under the name Stade Olympique Montpelliérain (SOM) and played under the name for most of its existence. In 1989, after playing under various names, the club changed its name to its current form. Montpellier is one of the founding members of the first division of French football. Along with Marseille, Rennes, and Nice, Montpellier is one of only a few clubs to have played in the inaugural 1932–33 season and is still playing in the first division. The club won Ligue 1 for the first time in the 2011–12 season. Montpellier's other honors to date include winning the Coupe de France in 1929 and 1990, and the UEFA Intertoto Cup in 1999.

Montpellier is owned by Laurent Nicollin, the son of the late Louis Nicollin, a French entrepreneur, who had been the owner since 1974. The club has produced several famous players in its history, most notably Laurent Blanc, who has served as manager of the France national team. Blanc is also the club's all-time leading goalscorer. Eric Cantona, Roger Milla, Carlos Valderrama, and Olivier Giroud are other players who have played in Montpellier's colors. In 2001, Montpellier introduced a women's team.

Read more


Name Nationality Position Age


Name Nationality Age

Montpellier HSC News