Manchester City

Manchester City


Manchester City Football Club is an English football club based in Manchester that competes in the Premier League, the top flight of English football. Founded in 1880 as St. Mark's (West Gorton), it became Ardwick Association Football Club in 1887 and Manchester City in 1894. The club's home ground is the City of Manchester Stadium in east Manchester, to which it moved in 2003, having played at Maine Road since 1923.

Manchester City entered the Football League in 1899 and won their first major honor with the FA Cup in 1904. It had its first major period of success in the late 1960s, winning the League, FA Cup and League Cup under the management of Joe Mercer and Malcolm Allison. After losing the 1981 FA Cup Final, the club went through a period of decline, which eventually saw them relegated as far down as the third tier of English football by the end of the 1997–98 season. They since regained promotion to the top tier in 2001–02 and have remained a fixture in the Premier League since 2002–03. In 2008, Manchester City was purchased by Abu Dhabi United Group for £210 million and received considerable financial investment.

The club have won six domestic league titles. Under the management of Pep Guardiola, they won the Premier League in 2018 becoming the only Premier League team to attain 100 points in a single season. In 2019, they won four trophies, completing an unprecedented sweep of all domestic trophies in England and becoming the first English men's team to win the domestic treble. The team's 1970 Cup Winners' Cup win remains their only European trophy to date. In the UEFA Champions League, their best result is a semi-final in the 2015–16 season. Manchester City's revenue was the fifth-highest of a football club in the world in the 2018–19 season at €568.4 million. 2019, Forbes estimated the club was the fifth most valuable in the world at $2.69 billion, however the sale of a 10% stake in the club's parent company City Football Group on 27 November 2019 for $500 million values them significantly higher.

Read more


Name Nationality Position Age
Phil Foden Phil Foden EnglandEngland Attacking Midfielder 22
Riyad Mahrez Riyad Mahrez AlgeriaAlgeria Forward 31
Bernando Silva Bernando Silva PortugalPortugal Midfielder 28
Kevin De Bruyne Kevin De Bruyne BelgiumBelgium Midfielder 31
Rodrigo Hernández Cascante Rodrigo Hernández Cascante SpainSpain Midfielder 26
Ilkay Gundogan Ilkay Gundogan GermanyGermany Midfielder 32
Nathan Ake Nathan Ake Netherlands (the)Netherlands (the) center back 27
Joao Cancelo Joao Cancelo PortugalPortugal Defender 28
Aymeric Laporte Aymeric Laporte FranceFrance center back 28
John Stones John Stones EnglandEngland center back 28
Ederson Moraes Ederson Moraes BrazilBrazil goalkeeper 29
Erling Haaland Erling Haaland NorwayNorway Forward 22
Kyle Walker Kyle Walker EnglandEngland Right back 2022
Rúben Dias Rúben Dias PortugalPortugal center back 25
Kalvin Phillips Kalvin Phillips EnglandEngland Midfielder 27


Name Nationality Age
Pep Guardiola Pep Guardiola ESSpain 52

Manchester City News

Sports - Kosisochukwu Anokwuru - Feb 01, 2023

EPL: Major Winter Transfers, Prospects

Sports - Oladimeji Balogun - Jan 14, 2023

EPL: Rashford, Fernandes Edge Man Utd Past Man City

Sports - Rasheed Olajide Awoniyi - Jan 14, 2023

Ten Football Clubs With The Most Revenue Generated In 2022

Sports - AllNews Nigeria - Jan 10, 2023

Can Arsenal Go All The Way This Season?