• Sports - Football - Nigerian Leagues
  • Updated: August 02, 2021

Akwa United Clinch First Ever NPFL Title With A Match At Hand

Akwa United Clinch First Ever NPFL Title With A Match At Han

Akwa United Win First-Ever NPFL Title

Akwa United FC of Uyo have been crowned the champions of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) on Sunday with a 5-2 defeat of Mountain of Fire Ministry FC.

Akwa United are now top of the league with 71 points ahead of second-place Nassarawa United (62) and would be winning their first NPFL title in their 25 years of existence with a game to spare.

They won on Sunday with a flourish, with Charles Atshimene grabbing a hat-trick in the 24th and 85th minutes, and the second minute of final added time.

Alimi Adebayo’s own goal in the second minute of first-half added time, and Mfon Udoh’s 62nd-minute goals added to their goals haul.

The 2013 Federation Cup and 2018 Aiteo Cup winners however conceded twice during the game, from Michael Mbonu’s 68th-minute penalty kick and Dennis Obasi’s 89th-minute goal.

They have so far won 19 matches, drawn 14, and lost four while scoring 52 goals and conceding 22 for a goals difference of +30 to stay miles away from their rivals.

The competition which began on December 27 of 2020 is scheduled to end on August 8.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Oladimeji Balogun
Oladimeji Balogun

Oladimeji Balogun is a graduate of the University of Ilorin where he studied Microbiology, he is a w...

More From this Author

0 Comment(s)


See this post in...